Who We Are

Twenty four years ago a handful of parents came together to create a new kind of public school for Delaware––one that would achieve excellence in academic education by infusing it with the arts.

Cab Calloway School of the Art

It wasn’t easy, but thanks to innovative leadership at the district level and the untiring support of parents, teachers and community, Cab Calloway School of the Arts was born!

Today, 950 students in grades 6-12 attend the school. Inspired by their interests in communication arts, dance, instrumental music, piano, strings, theater, visual arts and vocal music, our students are engaged in the classroom and motivated to succeed.

  • Our class of 2018 graduation rate was 100 percent.
  • Seventy-three percent of graduates received college and university scholarships totaling more than $9.5 million.

Even more important, however, has been our ability to level the playing field in providing an arts-enhanced education to children who might not otherwise have financial means to access it.

The Cab Calloway School Fund, a non-profit 501©(3) organization, provides scholarships and grants for private lessons, workshops, school trips, instruments, tools and supplies. We make it possible for Cab Calloway School of the Arts to have full piano program. Our summer program (SMArtSummer) offers six weeks of arts and science camps, attended by more than 700 students in 2018, including disadvantaged and deaf children.

With your generous contribution, the Cab Calloway School Fund can continue to support these programs as well as the innovation and incubation of future initiatives. Additional funds will support scholarships, grants and other activities.

Thank you for helping to make Cab Calloway School of the Arts a model for the future of education!


The Cab Calloway School Fund Board of Directors meets the second Tuesday of every month from September to June from 7:00 to 8:30 p.m. at the Cab Calloway School of the Arts.

Cab Calloway School Fund Board Of Directors

  • Jeff Politis, Chair
  • Brian Yerger, Vice-Chair
  • Tina Klumpp, Treasurer
  • Secretary
  • Sandra Hitchens
  • Jennifer Hollstein
  • Dr. Karen C. Feeney
  • Jeremy Anderson
  • Jordan Hines
  • Su Amaratunga
  • Thomas Laskas
  • Julie Rumschlag, Ex. Officio
  • Sally McBride, Member Emeritus